Your browser either has JavaScript disabled or it is malfunctioning.

Use this table of contents to navigate this site.

4 Lenses Assessment Facilitation

In 2012, I was chosen by Air Force Space Command to become a 4 Lenses Certified Facilitator. I was one of only a handful to be selected and I was excited by the opportunity. I had taken the DISC and Myers-Briggs assessments before and found them to be highly useful. However, I had heard from those who had taken the 4 Lenses assessment that it was different. That it was a simpler and more useful approach to understanding personalities than the others. I wasn't disappointed. I found the 4 Lenses more "approachable" and easier to convert into day-to-day, real world use. I can honestly say that I was a better manager and leader for the knowledge I gained in the facilitator course.

If you are not familiar with the 4 Lenses Assessment, it is a method of understanding the four basic personality types that all humans have. It was developed by Shipley Communication and is based on the research of, among others, Katharine Cook Briggs and Isabel Briggs Myers, William Moulton Marston and Nathan K. Bryce. You may recognized the first two as the originators of the Myers-Briggs and DISC assessments.

In a nutshell: it's a method of understanding and recognizing how the different types of personalities work and using this knowledge to minimize conflict and build teams that you can get the most out of.

Since my certification as a 4 Lenses Facilitator, I've facilitated over 25 sessions. Although I have since retired from the Air Force, my certification through Shipley is still valid. As such, I am now able to "teach" this course to groups who want to learn how to use the wealth of knowledge it brings. What follows is a FAQ style explanation of what 4 Lenses can do for you and your co-workers or family.

What Will A 4 Lenses Assessment Give Me

Those completing a 4 Lenses Assessment will:

How Does It Work

A 4 Lenses Assessment is made up of two parts: the personality assessment and the assessment interpretation.

The personality assessment is a three part that determines the order of a person's four personality types, or lenses.

The assessment interpretation explains what each of the four lenses mean, delving into the motivations, values, strengths and weaknesses of each. The interpretation then explains how each of the lenses fit together to form a cohesive personality and how these personalities compliment and contrast each other when they come into contact.

How Long Does It Take

A typical 4 Lenses Assessment takes about two hours. Roughly 75% of that time is spent in assessment interpretation, ensuring those participating in the assessment understand the information they are being given and how it applies to them and those around them.

A longer four hour session goes deeper into the personality types and how one can apply the knowledge to everyday life.

Can An Assessment Be Tailored To A Specific Focus

A 4 Lenses assessment can be tailored to focus on any number of areas. Team building, customer service, leadership, followership, et al. Even kids and family can be addressed with a 4 Lenses assessment. If it involves dealing with people, then a 4 Lenses assessment will prove beneficial in understanding them, motivating them and communicating with them while resolving any conflicts that may arise.

Who Can Facilitate An Assessment

Only those trained and certified by Shipley Communications can perform a 4 Lenses Assessment. All certifications are tracked and managed by Shipley; there are no third-party certification organizations.

How Much Does It Cost

Two Hour Session:

Four Hour Session:

Minimum session size is 12 attendees; maximum session size is 25 attendees.

All course materials are included in the cost. No special equipment or facilities is required.

How Can I Learn More

If you want to learn more about the 4 Lenses or would like me to facilitate an assessment, send me your contact information via my e-mail. I'll get back to you within 24 hours.